Azad Kashmir : History : Pakistan Region : ALL.BIZ: Pakistan
ALL.BIZ: Pakistan   |   About server   |   Advertising Login  |  Registration

Provinces Pakistan

Geographical position
Administrative-territorial division
Products and services by markets
Azad Kashmir : History Azad Kashmir : History
Pakistan / Provinces Pakistan / History - All provinces /
Azad Kashmir : History
After the partition of India in 1947, the king of Jammu and Kashmir (Modern Day Indian Jammu and Kashmir + Azad Kashmir + Northern Areas + Aksai Chin) decided to let Jammu-Kashmir be an independent state. This was soon followed by a tribal invasion of Kashmir backed by regular Pakistani troops. Fearing the might of Pakistani Forces, Kashmir sought military help from India and in-turn decided to accede with India. India accepted this and the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 was fought to send Pakistani forces back. However, the war was not decisively complete and a cease fire was called in 1948. The dispute has not yet been solved and the part of Kashmir to the west of that Cease-Fire Line or the Line of Control continues to be administered by Pakistan. This Western Kashmir was subsequently divided the into following provinces/regions by Pakistan:

Azad Kashmir - The narrow Southern part - 250 miles (400 km) in length with the width varying from 10 to 40 miles (15 to 65 km), 5,135 mi² (13,300 km²)

Northern Areas - A much larger area, 27,991 mi² (72,496 km²), incorporated into Pakistan and administered as a de facto dependency

Trans-Karakoram Tract - A small region at the Northern frontier of Gilgit-Baltistan agency, ceded to the People's Republic of China by Pakistan in 1963.
Muzaffarabad |Bagh |Bhimber |Kotli |Mirpur |Muzaffarabad |Plandri |Rawlakot |All cities of regions

   Copyright © 1999-2016 All-Biz Ltd. All rights reserved. | Contacts  
   Customer agreement